Update: Missa brevis

Work on the Missa brevis is progressing at a slow, but steady, pace. I decided I needed to go back and re-think the Gloria. The end result of that was a whole new theme that I feel is much more of what I expect to hear during the Gloria. I also finished sketches for the Sanctus and Agnus Dei a week or so ago. They are going to sound awesome! Lastly, I have been in a long debate with myself as whether or not to provide an Amen at the end of the Agnus Dei. Well, I decided it needed to be done, so I began working on that while simultaneously scoring the Gloria. The Amen at the end will be a fugue, not an easy thing to write. Some people are very good at fugues, I haven’t written enough of them to be very good. However, I think this one is going to be one of the best I have ever played around with. So the Amen will sound great. It is about 70% completed – so I have a good idea of how it will sound overall.

And that is a brief update on the progress of the Missa brevis. I will post a video blog in a couple weeks to give you a more in-depth look at what’s going on.

Leave a Reply

