NEW WORK: The almost deleted Gloria

In 2011, a year following the death of my father, I began working on a Mass. For those who don’t know what a Mass is, it’s the order of the Catholic Mass set to music (Kyrie, Gloria, Credo, etc). This was a daunting task and in 2012 I decided to release the finished first part, the Kyrie as my opus 41. Well I was going through my music folder and cleaning out old, unfinished, compositions I have no intention of finishing and came across this piece from that mass. It was 90% finished so I decided why not wrap it up and get it out of the “To be Deleted” folder and into the “Finished Works” folder. So I am proud to bring you my Gloria, numbered as Op. 41a for Chorus, Organ and String Orchestra in G Major.

LYRICS:

Gloria!
Gloria!
in Excelsis Deo!

Et in terra pax,
hominibus bonae,
bonae voluntatis, voluntatis.

Laudimus te,
Benedicimus te,
Adoramus te,
Glorificamus te.

 

Leave a Reply

